Questions, Comments, or Photographs for Discussion on 3 Braids with Makiko Tada

• Creator
    Topic

Please Use This Class Forum to Share with Virtual Gathering Attendees on “Three Twisted Braids” with Makiko Tada.

Viewing 26 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies

I think I’m starting to get the hang of the covered Edo Yatsu, but I am looking forward to watching Makiko’s hand movements again now that I have some idea of what she was doing.  My real question is how to transition from a section of color 1 being on the inside and color 2 on the outside, to a section of the opposite, with color 2 on the inside and color 1 on the outside.  It seems like I should rearrange my cords between the two sections, but I’m not sure how.

I’m starting with this before going on to the twisted braids because I have never done it before and I really liked the look of the samples that had it.

I have done the covered Edo Yatsu a few times. To change color, I do believe, you just start to braid with the color you want to hide for a few repeats and then braid the color you want on the outside. Make sense?

You don’t need to rearrange the cords.

Thank you! That is working.  I must have been overthinking it. 🙂

Thank you, Martha and Teryl!

I hope you are enjoying covered Edo-Yatsu.

I think I have Hira-Nejiri down and am enjoying this braid.  This class was a skill huge expansion for me.  I will be working my way through the remaining 2 braids in the handout next.

I am hoping Makiko’s video is available separate from the ZOOM recording.  There was a lot of unmuted speaker and audio feedback while the video was playing making it much harder to follow.  I really want to play with some of the transitions that were in the video but not the handout.

I love how the Edo Yatsu braid was the common element for all the classes today, but every instructor had a different “twist” on it.

Hira-Nejiri 1 (red and yellow) and Hira-Nejiri 2 (black and green).